Staff

New Executive Director, Steve Seibert

Steven M. Seibert was named Executive Director of the Florida Humanities Council in 2017, succeeding Janine Farver, who retired after 25 years with the organization. Seibert brings many years of experience in law, government, private sector, and nonprofit leadership, including involvement with council programs, service on the Board, and work with the national Federation of State Humanities Councils.

Seibert is a 1977 graduate of The George Washington University, where he was chosen for Phi Beta Kappa, and is a 1980 graduate of the law school at the University of Florida. For the succeeding decade, he practiced environmental and land use law in both the public and private sectors.

Seibert was elected to two terms on the Pinellas County Commission, starting in 1992, and served as its Chairperson twice. He chaired or sat on several regional and statewide committees usually dealing with water, transportation, land use or environmental issues.

Gov. Jeb Bush tapped Seibert in 1999 to lead Florida’s Department of Community Affairs, and he served in that capacity until 2003. Bush called Seibert “an outstanding public servant” and said “his ability to bring people together to achieve meaningful reforms will be his lasting legacy.” Seibert has received notable appointments from four different Florida Governors and the Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court.

A Florida Supreme Court certified mediator for over 20 years, Seibert gained a statewide reputation for helping to resolve contentious public and private sector disputes. He was awarded the statewide Excellence in Mediation Award and was significantly involved in helping to broker the end of the Tampa Bay “water wars.” He holds an “AV Pre-eminent” legal rating and has been named one of Florida’s “Legal Elite” by Florida Trend magazine.

Seibert served as the initial Executive Director of the Century Commission for a Sustainable Florida and as a Senior Vice President and Director of Strategic Visioning for the non-partisan “think tank,” the Collins Center for Public Policy. He has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Mosaic Company for over a decade, serving as Chairman of the Environmental, Health, Safety and Sustainable Development Committee and as a member of the Corporate Governance and Nominating Committee.

Seibert is a past Chairman of the Board of the Florida Humanities Council and of The Village Square, a Tallahassee-based nonprofit dedicated to promoting civil discourse. He was elected to the Board the national Federation of State Humanities Councils and was appointed by the Chief Justice to Florida’s Judicial Management Council. Seibert is a graduate of Leadership Florida (Class XIII) and a Founding Circle member of the national Centrist Project. He has earned membership in the Association of Professional Futurists and has been a respected member of the Florida Bar for over 30 years.

Staff

Barbara Bahr
Technology Manager
E-mail: bbahr@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2003

Laurie Berlin
Director of Administration
E-mail: lberlin@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2006

Alex Buell
Program Coordinator
E-mail: abuell@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2001

Danica Kelly
Data/Fiscal Assistant
E-mail: dkelly@flahum.org
727-873-2002

Lisa Lennox
Website Administrator
E-mail: llennox@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2018

Jacqui May
Director, Teaching Florida Program
E-mail: jmay@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2010

Brenda O’Hara
Fiscal Officer
E-mail: bohara@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2008

Barbara O’Reilley
Communications Director
E-mail: boreilley@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2012

Patricia Putman
Associate Director
E-mail:: pputman@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2004

Steve Seibert
Executive Director
E-mail: sseibert@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2007

Keith Simmons
Program Coordinator, Teaching Florida
E-mail: ksimmons@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2011

Tyler Tarrant
Program Coordinator
E-mail: ttarrant@flahum.org
Telephone Number: 727-873-2040