Florida Humanities Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing

Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing

He has a rare eye for marvelous detail, and an affectionate ear for those small, wise, bittersweet voices that tell the true story of Florida.

— Carl Hiaasen, Author and previous lifetime award winner

2019 Florida Lifetime Achievement Award Winners Ray Arsenault and Randy Wayne White

Calling the authors “giants in their respective fields,” judges selected historian Raymond O. Arsenault and thriller writer Randy Wayne White. Arsenault is the John Hope Franklin Professor of History at the University of South Florida St. Petersburg. White is noted for his Doc Ford thrillers. He has written more than 50 books, including crime fiction, adventure tales, cookbooks, and travel accounts. “What an honor it is to recognize two such remarkable Florida writers, each from such a distinct genre; one of our great and beloved fiction writers and one of our most influential historians,” said Steve Seibert, executive director of the Florida Humanities Council.

Nominate your favorite Florida author

The Florida Humanities Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing honors a living Florida author for a distinguished body of work that has had a major influence on Floridians. The award, chosen by an independent panel of judges, is given annually. The 2019 deadline is December 16.

Click here for nomination form

Past Award Recipients

Click on recipient name for more information about their literary achievements.

2018 – Jeff Klinkenberg

2017 – Edna Buchanan
2016 – David Kirby

2015 – Gary Mormino

2014 – Janet Burroway

2013 – Enid Shomer

2012 – Patrick Smith


2011 – Carl Hiaasen

2010 – Michael Gannon