Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing

He has a rare eye for marvelous detail, and an affectionate ear for those small, wise, bittersweet voices that tell the true story of Florida.

— Carl Hiaasen, Author and previous lifetime award winner

2018 Florida Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Jeff Klinkenberg

Jeff Klinkenberg is this year’s winner of the Florida Humanities Council prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing. During the next few weeks, he will be speaking around the state. His topic: “The Most Interesting Floridians I Have Known” – and there are many, such as Marjory Stoneman Douglas, known as the Grand Dame of the Everglades. Jeff began experiencing Florida at an early age, learning its lore and meeting its characters. He wrote about such subjects during a journalism career that spanned nearly four decades, and he has published six books.

Jeff’s speaking events will also feature a roll out of the most recent issue of our FORUM magazine. In that issue, you can learn more about Jeff, in addition to exploring Florida’s Fields of Dreams – a look at the way sports has helped mold our state’s character and culture. You’ll meet sports personalities, learn where you can visit some of the many sports museums – and get acquainted with the wildly popular racket game of pickleball, which has taken the state by storm.

Nominate your favorite Florida author

The Florida Humanities Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing honors a living Florida author for a distinguished body of work that has had a major influence on Floridians. The award, chosen by an independent panel of judges, is given annually. The 2018 deadline is December 14.

Click here for nomination form

Past Award Recipients

Click on recipient name for more information about their literary achievements.

2017 – Edna Buchanan

2016 – David Kirby
2015 – Gary Mormino

2014 – Janet Burroway

2013 – Enid Shomer

2012 – Patrick Smith

2011 – Carl Hiaasen


2010 – Michael Gannon